Skip to main content

MALLCO: Interest Groups

Contact

SUSAN URBAN

Executive Director

800 N. Harvey Ave

Oklahoma City, OK 73102

405-208-5393 (office)

405-640-7464 (cell)

mallcoexecutivedirector@gmail.com

Interest Group Chairs

Acquisitions & Collections Development

Needra Jackson (University of Missouri)

Institutional Repository

Cindy Bassett (University of Missouri)

Reference & Faculty Services

Cindy Shearrer (University of Missouri)

Resource Sharing

LeAnn Noland (Saint Louis University)

Descriptions & Discussion Lists

The second of MALLCO's three goals is to "Facilitate cooperative networking, professional development, and an ongoing exchange of ideas among members." The Interest Groups are designed to meet this goal. Interest groups meet in advance of the MAALL Annual Meeting each year and maintain discussion lists throughout the year. Interest Group membership is open to anyone who works at a MALLCO member library. Contact Susan Urban to be added to any group.

Interest Group Description Discussion List
Acquisitions & Collection Development   MALLCO-ACD-IG@googlegroups.com
Institutional Repositories   MALLCO-IR-IG@googlegroups.com
Reference & Faculty Services   MALLCO-RFS-IG@googlegroups.com
Resource Sharing   MALLCO-RS-IG@googlegroups.com

 

2017 Roundtable Notes

Acquisitions & Collection Development Roundtable

The 2017 MALLCO Acquisitions and Collection Development Roundtable had 19 attendees.  My special thanks to Heather Buckwalter, Creighton Law Library for taking the notes for this roundtable so that the chair, Needra Jackson could focus on leading the roundtable discussion topics. 

The roundtable utilized several topics discussed in the AALL Spectrum article, “Collection Development in the 21st Century: Law Firm andcademic Perspective”.  The focus was on three areas:

Making “bricks’ without “straw”: how do we keep the law library collection with shrinking budgets?

  1. Participants noted that with shrinking budgets there is less buying of monographs, increased cancellation of serial and loose-leaf materials and more spending on electronic resources.  When considering monographic print materials for cancellation, libraries looked at availability in two or more electronic resources, including Westlaw or Lexis.  Often a sticker or stamp was placed on book to indicate it was cancelled and information was given about where it was available electronically.
  2. Keep vs Cancel: most libraries focused on areas of excellence and the definitions in the libraries’ collection development policy.  Many libraries are still doing a piece by piece review of materials, some are doing comprehensive review every few years. Some libraries have faculty liaison’s reach out to faculty to discuss the impact of the cancellation.  When a decision has been made to cancel a specific title, it is a good opportunity to review all the material in that subject area.
  3. Loading catalog records assist with the discoverability of electronic resources but put language in the 856 field to indicate if resources has restricted access. Some libraries have loaded the Lexis and Westlaw treatises into the library catalog and others are using Cassidy Cataloguing records.  Withdrawing records can present specific challenges when it is in more than one collection.
  4. Many libraries are providing Westlaw Patron Access or LexisNexis Academic to offer electronic resource information to non-law patrons.  Be sure to evaluate your patron needs and customize your access to cut costs.

Changing accreditation standards: how do we balance the needs of “traditional doctrinal” scholarship with the new “experiential” learning requirements?

  1.  Support clinics by discussing their specific resource needs.  There was a suggestion that these resources requests be a part of your strategic plan and collection development policy.  Another suggestion  was to train clinic students on available library resources.

Knowledge management and open access: how does the law library become an active partner in the area of knowledge management?

Due to our in-depth discussions of the previous issues, the roundtable did not have much time to discuss this question.  We briefly discussed institutional repositories and the types of materials that libraries are adding that would be different from faculty scholarship.

The attendees at this roundtable were active participants and there was an excellent exchange of ideas.  There were several favorable comments after the session so I believe that the roundtable was successful.

Institutional Repository Roundtable

The Institutional Repositories Roundtable was attended by roughly 30 librarians. It began with introductions which included each attendee’s interest in IR’s. The group was then presented with several possible topics to discuss  including recent changes in ownership of Bepress, relationships between law school repositories and that of a parent institution, thoughts on implementing LawArXiv, and general repository management including how to improve our repositories, thoughts on usage statistics, and marketing.

Overwhelmingly the group wished to discuss the entry of LawArXiv into the field of IRs. Fortuitously, the meeting was also attended by several librarians who are deeply involved with the LawArXiv project including Femi Cadmus, AALL Vice President, Board visitor to the Annual Meeting,; Corie Dugas, Executive Director of NELLCO; Margie Maes, Executive Director of LIPA;  Allen Moye, Director of the Law Library at DePaul College of Law; and D.R. Jones, Director of the Law Library at the University of Memphis School of Law.  All of these members have been instrumental in planning for LawArXiv and guiding it to fruition. At the behest of the group, Ms. Cadmus opened the discussion with a brief introduction about what brought LawArXiv to being and how it was being constructed. It is very much a work in progress, so all members are invited to give feedback to the Board of LawArXiv so that ideas may be incorporated. Ms. Dugas commented that she is advising libraries to populate it with faculty publications going forward.

Incidental to the conversation was a discussion about the purchase of Bepress by Elsevier. Not all libraries represented use Bepress and the ones that do was noncommittal about any changes they might make in the set-up of their repositories. Most were interested in gathering as much information as they can from their fellow librarians as they map their path forward.

Reference & Faculty Services Roundtable

The 2017 Reference and Faculty Services roundtable divided into two groups of librarians for discussion.  This provided a chance to informally update one another, network, and share ideas. 

Librarians discussed student focused library initiatives including summer librarian/student liaison program, and methods for assigning study carrels.  We also shared instruction news, including details regarding different classes such as law review cite checking sessions, boot camps, workshops and online instruction.  

We spent some time on faculty focused library initiatives including new faculty orientations, liaison programs, and research assistant training.  We shared statistical gathering techniques and reporting including Gimlet, Google Drive, hash sheets, annual report with quantitative and qualitative data.  Some libraries used their statistics to rebalance liaison program. 

Our time together seemed to fly, as it is rare that we have a chance to sit down and share ideas with fellow librarians who have similar roles of responsibility.

Resource Sharing Roundtable

Resource sharing is more than exchanging books and articles. It is also an exchange of information and ideas. This year we discussed making the most of the MALLCO libguide by updating the libguide with expanded code and treatise information and having a page that succinctly highlights unique collections within the MALLCO libraries.  We also discussed having a page to share tips, tricks, and hacks we have discovered to make our jobs easier and more efficient.  Joining the listserv was highly encouraged to facilitate the further sharing of our ideas.

There was discussion of trends that we had seen over the last year and including the unique challenge of finding newspaper articles. We also discussed journals and law reviews and how we communicate with them and shared the workflows and we process their requests. 

2016 Roundtable Notes

Acquisitions & Collection Development Roundtable

  1. E-BOOK DISCUSSION

Most law libraries have not seen a substantial increase in e-book usage and they do not have plans for expanding e-book expenditures.

  1. STUDY AID PACKAGES

A recent email from Wolters Kluwer about changes to their study aid package prompted a lively discussion among participants.  However, the lack of substantive details about the package means that many law libraries will be unable to proceed with this package until clarification has been received.  The Wolters Kluwer study aid package contains many titles that are widely used by law students. Law libraries are still determining what methods to use to evaluate the impact of study aid usage on law student performance; suggestions include the use of a group survey and the collection of anecdotal responses.

  1. HEIN GREEN SLIPS

Most law libraries have cancelled subscriptions to the Hein Green Slips because of a duplication with other selection tools and a decrease in acquisition’s budget spending

  1. IMPACT OF BUDGET REDUCTIONS

Electronic Resources: Discussion focused on the need for useful statistics from product vendors so that law libraries could more effectively evaluate current and new electronic resources. There was a consensus for the need for legal vendors to supply compliant statistics like vendors and publishers in the non-legal market.

Strategic Visions: There were several ideas presented as to ways that law libraries were maintaining a relevant presence in their organization's strategic vision: (1) increase marketing of faculty services; (2) change status of librarians to faculty rank; (3) create new and unique roles within the organization like supervising the archive collection of expanding the role of law librarians in the creation of faculty bibliographies and faculty publications.

Institutional Repository Roundtable

The Institutional Repository Interest Group Roundtable discussed several topics. The first item was looking at the HeinOnline Author Portal. We also discussed developments with SSRN. Corie Dugas questioned the group about the possibility of MALLCO providing another option. Other discussion included marketing and migrating our IRs, and permalinks.

Reference & Faculty Services Roundtable

Resource Sharing Roundtable

Resource sharing is more than exchanging books and articles. It is also an exchange of information and ideas. This year we discussed making the most of the MALLCO libguide by updating the libguide with expanded code and treatise information and having a page that succinctly highlights unique collections within the MALLCO libraries.  We also discussed having a page to share tips, tricks, and hacks we have discovered to make our jobs easier and more efficient.  Joining the listserv was highly encouraged to facilitate the further sharing of our ideas.

There was discussion of trends that we had seen over the last year and including the unique challenge of finding newspaper articles. We also discussed journals and law reviews and how we communicate with them and shared the workflows and we process their requests.